Skip To Content

Illustration of "Nine-Coloured Deer Jātaka"


(Please click for enlarged image)

 
 
   
Figure 1 Figure 2



West wall of Mogao Cave 257
Northern Wei period
Copy by Chang Shuhong
 

This mural illustrating the jātaka (stories of Śākyamuni's previous births) tale of a nine-coloured deer is meant to promote the Buddhist concept of "benevolence and good deeds will bring good retribution; ungratefulness and evil deeds will incur severe punishment". This is also the only jātaka illustration at Mogao Caves using an animal as the protagonist. The mural is located in Cave 257 of the Northern Wei period. Its content is based on the Nine-Coloured Deer Jātaka translated into Chinese by Zhiqian from the Wu Kingdom of the Three Kingdoms period.

This jātaka tells of the story of a nine-coloured deer (one of the previous births of Śākyamuni) saving a man from drowning but the ungrateful man went to the palace to disclose the whereabouts of the deer and led the king to pursue the antlers and fur of the deer. The fearless deer appealed to the king by exposing the treachery of the man. Deeply moved, the king issued an order to forbid his countrymen from hunting the deer. The ungrateful man suffered from sores all over his body in return for violating his pledge.
 

Highlights

Portrayal of characters (Figure 1)
 

The painter excels in depicting the inner world of the characters through details. For instance, the deer is not portrayed as kneeling before the king as narrated in the jātaka tale, but standing tall and holding its head high while making an eloquent appeal. The image is meant to emphasise the fearless nature of noble beings in the face of brutal force. The king's compassion and concern for the deer is expressed by his lowered head while listening to the appeal of the latter.

In the scene depicting the man betraying the whereabouts of the deer to the king, the image of the queen hints coquettishness. She is resting one hand on the king's shoulder and another on her left knee; her fingers slightly flipping outward; the exposed sole suggesting she is tapping her feet. The overall image shows that she is very pleased and confident with her plot.
 

Colour scheme (Figure 1)
 

The colour scheme of the mural is very decorative. The earth-red background creates a rich and profound visual effect. Hues are alternately used to depict the houses and the chariot. The mountain peaks in the foreground are represented by malachite green, ocher red, white and black in alternation. The painting is interspersed with flowers and other vegetation depicted in white and green, further accentuating the decorative effect of the entire painting.
 

Portrayal of horses (Figure 2)
 

A black, a turquoise and a white horse are depicted in the painting. Their pointed jaw and narrow belly are typical of the horses in ancient Chinese paintings. They have flex legs and small hooves. Although the legs appear slender, the horses appear stout and powerful. Their prick-up ears and the intensely bridled horse head suggest that the horses could have been sneezing and ready to speed off. The horse of turquoise colour, which does not exist in reality, is the painter's ingenious creation. This mural is a fine example of the early jātaka illustrations at Dunhuang.

跳至主要内容

九色鹿本生故事


(请点击以放大图片)

 
 
   
图一 图二



莫高窟第257窟 西壁
北魏
常书鸿 临摹
 

九色鹿本生故事主要宣扬佛教「施恩行善必得好报,忘恩为恶必遭严惩」的观念,亦是莫高窟唯一以动物为主角的本生故事画。这个故事仅见于莫高窟北魏第257窟,是据三国时代吴国人支谦翻译的《佛说九色鹿经》绘制。

故事讲述了九色鹿(释迦牟尼的前生)救起溺水之人,但溺人见利忘义,到宫廷告密,并带领国王前往猎取鹿角及皮毛,九色鹿毫无惧色,向国王控诉溺人忘恩负义的恶行。国王深受感动,下令全国禁捕九色鹿,而溺人则因违背誓言而全身生疮受苦。
 

观赏亮点

人物刻画 (图一)
 

画师善于通过细微动静去表达人物的内心世界。例如画师特意不按《佛说九色鹿经》所记载九色鹿面对国王时是跪拜,反而画出昂首挺立、慷慨陈词的九色鹿,突显人性中不畏强暴的一面;国王低眉俯首聆听九色鹿的陈述,表现出怜悯和关怀之情。

在溺人向国王告密的情节中,王后一手搭在国王的肩上,媚态十足,她左手放膝上,手指轻轻翘起,脚掌外露,看似上下摆动,表现出洋洋得意、胸有成竹的神态。
 

色彩运用 (图一)
 

画中的色彩运用亦富装饰性,全画以土红色为底色,有深厚沉稳的效果。屋宇、车马主要以不同颜色交替。前方的一排山石则用石绿、赭红、白、黑几种颜色交错染出。在画的空隙里,又以白色或绿色的花草点缀其间,丰富了全画的装饰效果。
 

马的描绘 (图二)
 

画中黑、蓝、白三匹马,有着中国古代画马喙尖腹细的特征,画中所绘的马匹虽然弯腿细蹄,但看上去牠们却筋骨强健。马匹双耳直竖,马头被紧勒于胸前,似在喷鼻刨蹄,有脱缰昂首奔前之状。蓝色的马更是画师的奇思创作,在现实中并不存在。此属敦煌早期本生故事画的优秀作品。