Skip To Content

20/20 Hong Kong Print Art Exhibition

1/F, Thematic Galleries 3 & 4
7 October 2020 – 22 February 2021

Jointly presented by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department and the Hong Kong Open Printshop
Jointly organised by the Hong Kong Heritage Museum and the Hong Kong Open Printshop

Footprints in the sand; 
Pencil rubbings of a leaf; 
Colourful patterns on a T-shirt – 

These are images printed from a "matrix" and the more common forms of "print art". Print art can be found in nature and in our daily life. But we live in an ocean of images, with internet memes, mobile phone snapshots, banner ads and infographics at our fingertips. For most of us, print art is probably associated with vague, distant memories of works such as Campbell's Soup Cans by Andy Warhol or The Great Wave off Kanagawa by Hokusai. 

In fact, Hong Kong artists started creating prints as early as the 1930s, producing elaborate and diverse images by experimenting with different printing materials and techniques. Artists from different generations have portrayed social life in their prints, explored new directions for modern culture through colours and abstract forms, and blazed new trails in print art by adopting the latest technology and innovative techniques. Even today, artists are still fascinated by the meticulous process of printmaking and the textures of ink and paper. Their works reflect on life in Hong Kong and contemplate the evolution of contemporary culture. They are also a visual representation of the complex human psyche.

How do printmakers record the transformation of Hong Kong culture?
How do they integrate Eastern traditions with Western art forms?
How can print art be combined with photography, animation and digital printing to spark creativity? 

The exhibition uses 20 questions related to print art as introductory remarks, and each is answered by 20 different sets of artworks. All aim to inspire different threads of artistic imagination. Let's embark on this 20/20 journey to enter the graphic world of print art and to investigate the past and future of art and culture. 

The selected artworks in the exhibition range from the 1940s to 2020, showcasing prints by masters and some of the latest creations by young artists. Through these works, visitors will look into how the concepts of print art overlap with new media, such as computer animation, 3D printing, and augmented reality, and appreciate how printmaking techniques can be applied to creative works, like illustration, design, zines, and other cultural products.

 

Welcome to download the exhibition booklet

 

Exhibit Highlights

Raindrop Focus

Raindrop Focus II 

1969
Hon Chi-fun
Serigraphy: Silkscreen
Collection of Hong Kong Heritage Museum 

 

Inception

2020
Li Ning
Relief printing: Linocut
Artist collection

Wong Ka-kui's first acoustic guitar, bought with his own savings

 

Chung Tai-fu and his work Blue Ripple.
Blue Ripple.

Creating a print is no small feat. The artist must plan every step in great detail – from conceiving the design and drawing the image to making the plate, applying the ink, and printing with a press. Only when the inked paper is lifted from the press is the finished artwork revealed. 

Chung Tai-fu and his work Blue Ripple .

 

Tablet

1976
Cheung Yee
Paper casting
Collection of Hong Kong Museum of Art

Tablet

 

Dancing in Water No. 23

Dancing in Water No. 23

2011
Liu Siu-jane
Planography: Waterless lithograph
Collection of Hong Kong Heritage Museum

跳至主要内容

20/20香港版画图像艺术展

一楼 专题展览馆三及四
2020年10月7日 – 2021年2月22日

康乐及文化事务署及香港版画工作室联合主办
香港文化博物馆及香港版画工作室联合筹划

沙滩上,或深或浅的鞋印
画纸上,铅笔擦出树叶星罗棋布的脉络
潮牌T恤上,重重交迭的色彩拼出时尚的模样

这些用「版」印出来的图像都是我们经常遇到的「版画」。它们见于自然万物、也见于生活日常。然而,我们处身于图像浩瀚的汪洋中,网络迷因、手机照片、广告插画、资讯图表皆尽在指尖之间,版画唤起的,大抵是安迪.华荷的金宝汤、葛饰北斋的巨浪等陌生又遥远的记忆。

其实,早于1930年代,香港艺术家已经投入版画创作,藉由双手与印版材料的互动创造出万象纷繁的图像世界。不同世代的艺术家或以版画图像反映社会百态、又或以色彩与抽象图案叩问文化的新路向,甚或采用新科技、新技法开拓版画图像的新领域。时至今日,艺术家依然钟情于版画制作过程的考究、油墨与纸张的质感。他们的作品是香港生活的反映、当代文化转变的思考,也是人心幽微的色相呈现。

版画家如何记录香港文化面貌的变迁?
如何融合东方传统与西方艺术形式?
如何与摄影、动画、数码打印联乘,擦出创意火花?

展览尝试以20条与版画图像艺术相关的问题作为引子,并以20组展品作回应,每一道问题触发不同的艺术想象。我们一起从20/20出发,看版画、看图像,也探问艺术文化的过去与未来。

展品包括1940年代至2020年的作品,展示大师的经典版画及年青艺术家的最新创作,观众可以在展览中看到版画概念如何与电脑动画、立体打印、扩增实境等新媒介融合,亦可以欣赏到版画技巧如何应用于插画、设计、小志及文创产品等创作。

「20/20香港版畫圖像藝術展」及「字裡圖間 — 香港印藝傳奇」展覽特備節目

欢迎下载展览小册子

 

展品精选

雨瞳之二

雨瞳之二

1969年
韩志勋
孔版:丝印
香港文化博物馆藏

 

植入

2020年
李宁
凸版:麻胶版
艺术家藏

植入

 

钟大富及其作品 《 蓝调里的涟漪 》
《 蓝调里的涟漪 》

一幅版画的诞生,殊不简单,艺术家必须仔细计划各个步骤 — 由构思、绘图、制作印版、涂抹油墨、压印等,直至掀开纸张一刻,作品方才跃然于眼前。

钟大富及其作品《蓝调里的涟漪》。

 

 

1976年
张义
铸纸版
香港艺术馆藏

铭

 

水中舞之二十三

水中舞之二十三

2011年
廖少珍
平版:无水石版
香港文化博物馆藏